Think About a Thank You

Thank YouRecently I received a thank you card from a friend. The card was unexpected because I hadn’t given her a gift and it wasn’t a holiday. A thank you card for a friendship we share. This card made my day and as it sits on my desk, it brings a smile to my face and reminds me daily of all the people in my life I am thankful for. Do I tell them often enough how much I love and appreciate them? Do these important individuals know how grateful I am for their friendship and their influence in my life?

I’m thinking about a “Thank You!” Is it possible to say it too much?

I have a great mother-in-law, Wanda Wilson, who I appreciate for the way she raised her son and credit her for many of Mark’s wonderful characteristics. She lives in the state of Washington, so we don’t get to see her often but we are grateful for cell phones and email which allow us to keep in contact with her. We appreciate the love and support she continues to give us.

I appreciate my cute sisters-in-law, Karen and Jerrie. Mark adores his sisters who are ten and eleven years younger. They also live in other states, but we always enjoy our visits with them. We are also grateful for their husbands, Mark Ray and Jon Stevenson. They are so fun to be with. Thank you for your love and support.

My biggest blessing is Mark. I appreciate him even more since I almost lost him twenty-two years ago in a car accident. He was a hard worker before the accident, providing for our family. After the accident he continued to work hard at getting better. Even though he can no longer do electrical work, he still works hard at ACS (Ability Choice Services) doing assembly work. I am grateful for those who assist him at ACS.  Mark is a joy to live with. I am so thankful for his life, friendship, humor and the great example he is to everyone he meets. I am proud to be his wife.

I revere our children, Christopher and Katie Mae. I appreciate the wonderful, helpful adults they’ve grown into. I am also grateful for their companions, Jenn and Eldin. They are great bonus children.

I am indebted to my parents and siblings, their spouses, nieces and nephews, who do so much for us. Too many to name, but they know who they are. I know I can call on any one of them, any time, and anywhere. They are not only family but dear friends.

I am thankful for doctors and nurses, who have saved Mark’s life. I respect their knowledge and training and especially appreciate those who maintain the “care” in their healthcare profession.

I am grateful for the many rehab therapists who have increased Mark’s abilities over the past twenty-two years. I appreciate their willingness to work hard and think of creative ways to fire up the connection between Mark’s brain and muscles. They’re wonderful and I applaud their work. Because of them, Mark accomplishes amazing things.

Last but not least, I am so appreciative for friends. They support and encourage us. Many volunteer their time to help Mark with his exercises. They don’t give up on us. They lift our spirits and help us achieve great things. These friends truly feel like brothers and sisters. We are so grateful for all they do for us.

I can’t imagine life being joyful or fulfilling without family and friends, and we wouldn’t have much of a life without the professional caregivers that assist us in our health. All are angels among us and help us get through the tough times. I’m so grateful to you all!

4 thoughts on “Think About a Thank You

  1. I am thankful for Barbara and her family who continue to care for and love Mark when we can’t. It is wonderful to know that he is appreciated and loved. Love you, Mom

Leave a Reply

