Art and Healing

Art color tunnel

Art Therapy

If you feel stuck in a dark tunnel, try some art to brighten it and make it colorful.

Inspirational thoughts from Arts and Healing Network


“Art opens the closets, airs out the cellars and attics. It brings healing.”


“At the deepest level, the creative process and the healing process arise from a single source. When you are an artist, you are a healer; a wordless trust of the same mystery is the foundation of your work and its integrity.”


“Art is a wound turned into light.”


“I think artists can go to a level of vision that can often save us from a situation which seems to have no solution whatsoever.”
Susan Griffin

“Creativity healed me. I don’t know that I could think of any word that I get more inspired by than the word healing.”

“It is your ability as a creative person to envision positive change that will make a difference.”


“Making art is like giving a gift: evidence of your spirit and that you are here.”

“Art is our one true global language. It knows no nation, it favors no race, and it acknowledges no class. It speaks to our need to reveal, heal, and transform. It transcends our ordinary lives and lets us imagine what is possible.”

“Healing Art is being born as we speak. The concept is catching fire, is awakening in people’s spirits…Artists, musicians and dancers are realizing their imagery has meaning….that their imagery heals them, others, their neighborhood, or the earth.”

“Art is not a part of life, it is not an addition to life, it is the essence of those pieces of us that make us fulfilled. That give us hope. That give us dreams and provide the world a view very different than what it would have been without us.”


“The portal of healing and creativity always takes us into the realm of the spirit.”
Angeles Arrien

 

2 thoughts on “Art and Healing

  1. I can’t tell you how much art helped me when I was in the middle of my caregiver process. I have always loved antiques and the idea of “up-cycling” used items. After my husband had spent a significant amount of time convalescing in our living room I decided it was time to lighten and brighten my surroundings. So I sold all, and I mean ALL of our furniture, and started collecting old pieces and painting them bright, happy colors. My soul started to soar! All of the pieces were different colors and the chic, vintage look was just what I needed to “begin again”. Not only that, doing something for myself by getting lost in painting was invaluable. I could be home with my loved one and at the same time feel creative and practice self care. Win-win!

Leave a Reply

