Life’s Ups and Downs

Roller Coaster1Five days ago I wrote about my roller coaster ride with Mark going in and out of consciousness. I didn’t realize at the time, but it was the perfect introduction title for this week. I’ve been on another kind of a roller coaster ride. Last night, at the League of Utah Writers Contest, I was thrilled and awe struck when I was awarded second place in the first writing contest I’ve ever entered.Today, I was drastically dropped down after meeting with a general surgeon. It seems an operation is the only fix for my hernia. Wait! I don’t have surgeries or need care—my role is to be the caregiver. How could this be happening? I don’t think I should scream or close my eyes in shear terror, but it’s hard to enjoy the ride while trying to figure out the details for Mark’s care who most likely needs hip surgery. The details of that surgery will be known after his doctor’s appointment on April 2nd. Either way, it’s difficult for me to imagine anyone can take good enough care of Mark other than myself. I’m not looking forward to this recovery ride, or being out of control of our circumstances. However, I will do my best to raise my hands up in the air and enjoy the ride.

Roller Coaster

8 thoughts on “Life’s Ups and Downs

  1. Barbara, I’m sorry to hear about both of your upcoming surgeries. Is there anything we can do to help?

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Barbara, how difficult this is for you. I am sure it will all work out well but it is a bumpy ride isn’t it? If I could help I would but that just isn’t possible. I can pray though and put you on our prayer chain. Love you, Mom

  3. Barbara, first of all, congratulations on your writing award! It doesn’t surprise me as I love reading your writing and it uplifts me and is always so well written. Clap, clap, clap!!! I’m so sorry to hear about the upcoming surgeries. I don’t doubt that your hernia has been caused from all of the heavy lifting that you do and if that is the case, are you going to have to re-think that process? I hate to think of all you are going to have on your plate in the upcoming future and hope you can get the help you need. Rely on others to help and delegate. I know that you have always thought that you are Mark’s best caregiver (and you probably are) but there are times when we need to let others step in and do the things we cannot do, and that is ok. I feel like I am saying words that you would say yourself. Ha, ha . . . All my best to you my friend. xoxo

Leave a Reply

